KPC-E700 vs Sony Effio-E 700TVL

Show and tell for your homebrew nv projects. DIY 'Stickies' here too.
hatsan125sniper

KPC-E700 vs Sony Effio-E 700TVL

Post by hatsan125sniper » 31 Jul 2018, 11:09

I'm new to all the night vision stuff so first sorry if this is a stupid question . I was trying to ask this question on the Night vision uk facebook page and my questions were deleted and they took away the ability to make any more comments . So something weird is going on with that question . They want a extra 70 pounds for the kcp-e700 . Before they deleted some one commented that the sony was made in china and the kcp was made in S Korea. I typed this into the search and could not find a comparison . I think they put a 16mm lens on both cameras . That's about all I know . Does anyone have any idea why I would be silenced my nv uk for this question ?

jdk1

Re: KPC-E700 vs Sony Effio-E 700TVL

Post by jdk1 » 31 Jul 2018, 12:31

I don't know for sure but its possible that they use the cheaper Effio camera in the builds they sell so they may not want people saying how much better the KPC is. (This is purely a guess as I know very little about that site)

hatsan125sniper

Post by hatsan125sniper » 31 Jul 2018, 12:50

Can you tell me what the differences are between the 2 cameras

phoenix
BRUCE ALMIGHTY

Post by phoenix » 31 Jul 2018, 12:55

I don't know why they shut you up, but this is the real story:
Sony manufacture the sensors (the bit that converts light to electrical signals) and the processing chips that take the electrical signals, process them in all sorts of clever ways before passing them to a screen where you can see what the sensor is looking at.
The word EFFIO is a Sony trademark for the processing chips and there are various versions of EFFIO chips, EFFIO A and EFFIO E being the most common.
700TVL (TVL = television lines) is a measure of how sharp the image is and relates to the performance of the sensor.