RABBITS(or lack of ?)

Chat about your shooting and hunting. (Nothing illegal or cruel, please). Post pics or videos.
hussar

RABBITS(or lack of ?)

Postby hussar » 28 Mar 2017, 23:27

Having been pest controlling rabbits on three farms and a tree nursery in nth yorks for 15 years i have shot thousands over this time and the sale of same has helped greatly with costs of fuel and ammo at aged 75 and no longer having a shooting mate last september i was going to pack it in there was a decent head of bunnies left but not like last few years then i was asked by a mate to carry on which i was glad to do i put back in for my ticket we went to my perms 3 weeks ago i was gutted to find numbers had dropped by 60 to 80 percent he then showed me a vid of his perm in cumbria done last october it was crawling with them so on monday we went to his place same thing worked our socks off for6 hours for bag of 50 as an hgv driver i had crossed the a66 at night hundreds of times and from brough to scotch corner saw rabbits on the verges in hundreds i was very sad to only count only 48 so did a bit reading only to find that RVHD in scotland over the last 5 years has dropped the numbers by 60 percent so after seeing the decline in numbers on our perms ican only conclude that the loss is down to RVHD and it has at least come as far south as the humber your thoughts on this lads if you will cheers trev

Cottis

Re: RABBITS(or lack of ?)

Postby Cottis » 29 Mar 2017, 20:54

Not sure about either strain of RVHD but in North Oxon/South Warwicks, I have found rabbit numbers seem to vary much and I can never quite figure out why.

When I was a young lad, we used to see loads down bridleways and in tucked away places but when I have gone back in later years, they are just not there in the same numbers.

More recently, I have seen reductions on golf courses (where I play and shoot, so see first hand changes in daylight and at night)