Pulsar ultra n455

A place to introduce yourself, chat about anything and put forward suggestions.
Instructions on how to add your location and photographs.
Post Reply
Shoodzy
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 21:22
Location: Edinburgh

Pulsar ultra n455

Post by Shoodzy » 12 Apr 2019, 19:05

Hi,

This is my first post i have just bought a pulsar ultra n455 and having trouble getting it zeroed. I went to the range and tried to follow the instructions and zero it but it didn’t work. Zeroed at 25m then tried it at 50m it was way out then tried it at 75 and it wasn’t even on the paper!


Best wishes

Shoodzy

jthyttin
Posts: 104
Joined: 30 Jun 2014, 11:39
Location: Finland

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by jthyttin » 13 Apr 2019, 06:34

Since there's nothing about special zeroing distances and compensation in N455 manual I assume it's done like regular scope.

From your description I'd say it's user error especially if N455 is mounted high over the bore line.

25m zero intersects the line of sight second time at 200-300m depending on setup. At 50m the POI is almost as much above the POA as it's below at muzzle. At 75m it's almost twice that (no appreciable trajectory drop).

blueroll
Posts: 1116
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 20:34
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon.

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by blueroll » 13 Apr 2019, 13:02

You might need a MOA pic rail on your rifle, I needed one when I had the N355.

phoenix
BRUCE ALMIGHTY
Posts: 5574
Joined: 09 May 2012, 14:40
Location: Aberdeen

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by phoenix » 13 Apr 2019, 13:39

Try boresigting the rifle at 50 yards, and then get zeroed at that distance
Pretty much any centrefire rifle will be within 2-3 inches high or low of that zero out to around 200 yards, so you should be able to make fine adjustments to get the reticle near the centre of the screen.
On that point, remember that this is a digital rilfescope where the position of the reticle on the screen will almost certainly have to be moved away from the centre of the screen to get the scope zeroed.
If you're not happy with the postiion of the reticle when the scope is zeroed, then you need to mechanically adjust the position of the scope on the rifle so that the reticle is nearer the centre of the screen when zeroed.

Cheers

Bruce
LAND ROVER - THE WORLD'S WORST 4X4 BY FAR

jthyttin
Posts: 104
Joined: 30 Jun 2014, 11:39
Location: Finland

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by jthyttin » 13 Apr 2019, 13:50

phoenix wrote:
13 Apr 2019, 13:39
On that point, remember that this is a digital rilfescope where the position of the reticle on the screen will almost certainly have to be moved away from the centre of the screen to get the scope zeroed.
Not sure about the newer Pulsars but just tried N870 LRF and the reticle is centered even when adjustments are maxed out.

blueroll
Posts: 1116
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 20:34
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon.

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by blueroll » 13 Apr 2019, 17:34

jthyttin wrote:
13 Apr 2019, 13:50
phoenix wrote:
13 Apr 2019, 13:39
On that point, remember that this is a digital rilfescope where the position of the reticle on the screen will almost certainly have to be moved away from the centre of the screen to get the scope zeroed.
Not sure about the newer Pulsars but just tried N870 LRF and the reticle is centered even when adjustments are maxed out.
Yeah I think from memory when I saved the settings in the N355 (and certainly seems to in the Trail) it centralised the ret.

dhmservices
Posts: 35
Joined: 20 Feb 2014, 13:22
Location: berkshire

Re: Pulsar ultra n455

Post by dhmservices » 25 Apr 2019, 11:07

Hi, I have just mounted my Pulsar N355. Zeroed it at 87 yards , followed the instructions and was spot on. I used a rifle rest so the rifle was held in place instead of being on a bipod. The rifle HAS to be fix to get the correct zeroing point.It is no good holding it free hand as it will move when you are pushing the buttons. When the zeroing adjustments are made press the memory button and a zero message will come up in the centre of the screen with a large tick on it.I read the instructions 4 times before I made the first shot. I hope this a help to you.

Post Reply