Yukon Photon

A place to introduce yourself, chat about anything and put forward suggestions.
Instructions on how to add your location and photographs.
foxfire

Yukon Photon

Post by foxfire » 06 Sep 2019, 16:23

Hi all
I'm a new member to the forum, I'm fairly new to night vision and have used Nite Site stuff in the past but recently obtained a Yukon Photon XT 6.5x50 which is adequate for what need , I have also acquired a 1.5x lens to give it a bit more mag I wanted to attach it to the Yukon using a step down ring I wondered if anyone knows what the thread size is on the Yukon lens please

NTSOG

Re: Yukon Photon

Post by NTSOG » 16 Nov 2019, 01:52

Hello foxfire,

I have the Photon XT 6.5 X and bought a 'doubler' from Drew's Lab in Scotland. I toyed with trying to screw the lens directly to the XT, but decided I might wreck the sight altogether. Hence I bonded the lens to its plastic 'slip-on' mount as I found that it unscrewed with the recoil from my .222 rifle. I also put a single strip of thin plastic tape on the outside of the XT lens as a shim. The o-ring that came with the lens and mount was not sufficient to stop the whole thing moving forward with recoil. Hence I cut 4 slits [5/8'' long] equally spaced in the rear edge of the slip on mount with 1/8'' relief holes at the ín-board end of each slit. I clamped the mount in place with a SS hose clamp [painted black] and tensioned it carefully.

So far there is no movement and, shooting off a bench at 100 yards, I am getting 5 shot groups under 1/2" MOA in daylight. The rifle is an Anschutz 1532.

Jim.

muntjackdjb

Post by muntjackdjb » 16 Nov 2019, 16:36

I gave up with a doubler as field of view was poor.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

NTSOG

Post by NTSOG » 16 Nov 2019, 19:44